skip navigation
Usah transparent
Sed trans small

High School Hockey

In support of High School Hockey, CAHA would like to recognize the South Carolina Scholastic Hockey Association. SCSHA was founded in 2001 and was originally composed of six teams from the Charleston area. Is now home to nine teams from across the state. While six of the teams are from the Charleston area, SCSHA has also spread to the Columbia and Greenville areas.

Robert Engler

High School Hockey Chair
(843) 338-4784

Hobey Baker High School Character Award

Success in life, much like success in hockey, demands more than skill alone. It demands a positive attitude, an excellent work ethic, and a will to succeed, no matter how hard it can be. We would like to congratulate our Hobey Baker High School Character Award winners who were recognized at the Carolina Hurricanes Game.

In 2003, the Hobey Baker High School Character Award was established to honor high school hockey players who exemplify the Hobey Baker ideal that "Character Builds Excellence." Candidates for a High School Hobey Baker Award are selected by their coaches, based on the following criteria:

    •     Integrity and positive attitude
    •     Coachability
    •     Outstanding sportsmanship
    •     Community spirit

Each year, a single senior hockey player from each participating high school is selected by his or her coach to be honored by teammates and celebrated by the school and the community for outstanding individual performance on and off the ice.

Winners receive a personalized commemorative plaque – and a distinction shared by some of the top players to ever hit the ice: Hobey Baker winner.

2018 Winners

Hector Colon
Mario Coppa
Joey Davidson
John Duffer Duffley
Cameron Dutra
Christian Hoffman
Ryan Lubker
Connor McCabe
Luke Nygard
Patrick O'Connor
Emily Petersen
Abigail Radcliffe
Sean Richichi
Christian Sokol
Bennett Terada
Ryan Waller